Abdul Wali Khan University Mardan, Pakistan

9th Syndicate of Abdul Wali Khan University Mardan

Date: 28/10/2013

9th Syndicate of Abdul Wali Khan University Mardan

Meeting of the 9th Syndicate of Abdul Wali Khan University Mardan, under the chairmanship of Vice Chancellor Prof. Dr. Ihsan Ali, was held on October 26, 2013 at the Main Campus of AWKUM.

The meeting was attended by Vice Chancellor University of Haripur Prof. Dr. Nasser Ali Khan, DG Technical Education Mr. Shakeel Ahmad, MD Pakhtunkhwa Highway Authority Engineer IjazYousafzai, Additional Secretary HEC Mr. Khalid Khan, Additional Secretary Finance Mr. ImtiazAyub, Deputy Secretary Establishment Mr. KhudaBaksh, Ex member Federal Public Service Commission Mr. Muhammad Aziz Khan, Principal Post Graduate College Mardan (females)Haleema Begum, Dean Faculty of Science Prof. Dr. Saeed Anwar, Dean Faculty of Arts Prof. Dr. Zahoor-ul-Haq, Registrar Saeed-ul-Islam, Chairperson Department of Zoology Prof. Dr. Yasmeen Nawaz, Controller Examination Dr. Riasat Ali, Assistant Prof. Department of Law Mr. Muhammad Zubair, Lecturer Health and Physical Education Mr. Farooq Hussain and several other members.

In meeting of the syndicate, 22nd 23rd and 24th Selection Board as well as recommendations of the 8th Affiliation Committee was unanimously approved while Principal Post Graduate College Mardan Mr. Fayaz Ali Shah's name has been approved as member of the Affiliation Committee.

On the occasion, Prof. Dr. Ihsan Ali reiterated that AWKUM produced its first ever PhD in four years and eight months. In the history of Pakistan, there would be very few universities who would have produced their first PhD in such short time. He further added that currently there are 113 PhDs in AWKUM and 51 scholars have been sent abroad for pursuing their PhDs while 38 scholars are pursuing their PhDs in Pakistan. In 2015, the number of PhD faculty in AWKUM would be 224 which would be more than any university of the country would have at that time.