Abdul Wali Khan University Mardan, Pakistan

Advance Studies and Research Board of AWKUM






Advanced Studies and Research Board.

(1)The Advanced Studies and Research Board shall consist of:


the Vice Chancellor (Chairperson);

Vice Chancellor


the Dean of Faculty concerned and Directors of Institutes;

1. Prof. Dr. Zahoor-ul-Haq,
Dean, Faculty of Arts,                                 AWKUM
2. Prof. Dr. Yasmin Nawaz,
Dean Faculty of Science,
3. Prof. Dr. Mukhtar Alam,
Dean, Faculty of Agriculture,


three University Professors other than Deans to be appointed by the Syndicate;

1. Prof. Dr. Saeed Anwar,
Chairman, Department of Biotechnology, AWKUM
2. Prof. Dr. Salimullah Khan,
Chairman, Department of Pharmacy, AWKUM


Principal of constituent college;

1. Dr. Muhammad Hamayun,
Principal, University College of Science, Shankar
2. Ms. Naseem Rafique,
Principal, University College for Women


three University teachers, having research qualifications and experience to be appointed by the Academic Council; and

1. Dr. Muhammad Azam,
Assistan Professor,
Department of Management Sciences, AWKUM
2. Dr. Muhammad Irshad,
Assistant Professor,
Department of Botany, AWKUM
3. Dr. Arif Lodhi,
Assistant Professor,
Department of Chemistry,


three teachers from affiliated colleges/ affiliated institutions having research qualifications to be appointment by the Academic Council.

1. Dr. Jamila,
Govt. Girls Degree College, Marghuz Swabi
Cell: 0300-5907728
2. Prof. Dr. Fazli Subhani,
Principal, Govt. Postgraduate College, Dargai (Malakand)
3. Dr. Lal Said Jan,
Govt. Postgraduate College,

(2)The term of office of members of the Advanced Studies and Research Board, other than ex-officio members, shall be two years.
(3) The quorum for a meeting of the Advanced Studies and Research Board shall be one-half of the total number of members, a fraction being counted as one.
(4) The functions of the Advanced Studies and Research Board shall be to-
(i) advise the Authorities on all matters connected with the promotion of Advanced Studies and Research in the University;
(ii) consider and report to the Authorities on the institution of research degrees in the University;
(iii) propose Regulations regarding the award of research degrees;
(iv) appoint supervisors for postgraduate research students and to approve titles and synopses of their theses dissertations;
(v) recommend panels of names of examiners for evaluation of their thesis and other research examinations; and
(vi) perform such other functions as may be prescribed by Statutes.